At last!

I can finally say that the book is DONE – author copies of Magnificent Scoundrel were waiting for me when I staggered home last night after 12 hours at the shop. Although it didn’t feel as thrilling or exciting  as I might have wished, I felt the immense satisfaction (and pride) of having finished the project and thrown it out into the world. Two people I’d like to thank for the accomplishment of this moment are no longer with us. One is my friend Rich Vitone, who introduced me to the films of Warren William about six years ago, thereby setting in motion a chain of events that led to this book. The other is Warren William himself – not just for the enjoyment and pleasure I’ve had watching his movies, but for his being the kind of person who earned my repect and admiration, and as a result, kept me going throughout the process. I truly enjoyed hanging out with him these last four years, and I’m very glad to be the person who is bringing him back into the public eye in some small way. 

Congratulations, Warren - you deserve it.

About magnificentscoundrel
John Stangeland is the biographer of 1930's film icon Warren William, a lazy business owner and a washed-up comic book artist. He's not bitter, though.

Leave a Reply

